AFCAT (Air Force Common Admission Test) is an entrance test for aspirants willing to join Indian Air Force as Commissioned Officer in Flying, Ground Duty (Technical) and Ground Duty (Non-Technical). The test is conducted twice a year across the country by Indian Air Force.

Education Qualification:

Flying Branch: minimum of 60% marks each in Maths and Physics at 10+2 level.
Graduation with a minimum of 3 years degree in any discipline from a recognized university with a minimum of 60% marks.

Age Limit : It Varies As Per The Branch Viz.

Flying Branch (AFCAT & NCC Entry) : 20 – 24 years as on July 1, 2020, i.e. born between July 2, 1996 – July 1, 2000.
Ground Duty (Technical and Non-Technical) : 20 – 26 years as on July 1, 2020 i.e. born between July 2, 1994 – July 1, 2000.


AFCAT  Exam Pattern Highlights

Exam AFCAT EKT (only for technical)
Mode of Exam Online i.e. computer-based Online i.e. computer-based
No. of Questions 100 50
Maximum Marks 300 150
Duration of Exam 2 hours (120 minutes) 45 minutes
Sections in Paper General Awareness, Verbal Ability in English, Numerical Ability and Reasoning and Military Aptitude Test Mechanical, Computer Science and Electrical & Electronics
Negative Marking 1 mark 1 mark